The RMC Museum has exhibits in several locations around the RMC campus. The Museums main exhibits are in the Fort Frederick Martello Tower but there are also small exhibits located in several other buildings. Online exhibitions will be coming soon.
Explore Fort Frederick:
Housed in the Fort Frederick Martello Tower, a National Historic Site and part of the Rideau Canal UNESCO World Heritage Site, the RMCC Museum tells the story of Canada’s oldest military college and the earlier Kingston Naval Dockyard and displays a selection of the College Arms Collection.
This area originally functioned as the magazine and storerooms where ammunition, water, equipment and provisions were kept. The Towers four caponieres, a defensive feature intended to protect the dry-ditch and the inner grounds of the Fort, can also be accessed from this level.
The main floor explores the history of both the College and that of the Royal Naval Dockyard through a variety of exhibits and other interpretative features. The carronades (with a range of 400m) and all other artillery displayed in the Tower, are the original armament.
The second floor showcases the College Arms Collection and includes the Douglas Arms Collection which once belonged to General Porfirio Diaz, President of Mexico (1876; 1877-1880; 1884-1911). This collection was purchased by Ex-cadet No. 249, Walter Douglas, and presented to the College in 1938. It is considered one of the most interesting and valuable collections of its kind in North America.
Three 32-pounder guns on traversing mounts are in position here. The view from the windows on the platform allows one to see the inter-relationship between Fort Frederick and other Kingston fortifications. The original roof known as a Snow Roof was removable.
Curtain Wall, Ramparts and Bastions
The outside perimeter of the Fort is made up of a stone wall (the Curtain Wall), earth walls (called ramparts) and arrow shaped protrusions called bastions. Originally the ramparts were armed with eleven guns: one Armstrong gun, six 32-pounder guns, two 5 ½ inch- howitzers, and two 24-pounder guns. Today, there are seven guns on the ramparts: one 24-pounder on the northwest corner, two 32-pounders on the west wall, one Armstrong gun on the Lake Battery, two 32-pounders on the east wall and one 24-pounder on the northeast corner.